PDA

View Full Version : Dolphin Triforce Emulation



DemonEyeX
06-18-2012, 03:16 PM
A version of Dolphin has been released which emulates some Triforce games.
I'm about to give it a go in a bit.
I'll report back how I get on.

Anyone else out there attempting to emulate Triforce ?

djvj
06-18-2012, 03:57 PM
Only GP 2 works, and you can only start the game, but no gas pedal yet.

DemonEyeX
06-19-2012, 11:28 AM
Hmmmm,
Can't get any games to boot at the moment.
All games crash with a fatal error message, including GP 2.

Anybody out there able to help me with this ?
I'll post the specific problem in a while.

CABLE
06-19-2012, 01:14 PM
Go to the general configuration menu and tick enable cheats. Then in the gamecube config menu set SP 1 and Port 1 to AM-Baseboard

azzbarb
06-19-2012, 02:46 PM
just read at the dolphin forum that the controls are now fixed, not sure what dolphin build in though.

djvj
06-19-2012, 03:38 PM
Hmmmm,
Can't get any games to boot at the moment.
All games crash with a fatal error message, including GP 2.

Anybody out there able to help me with this ?
I'll post the specific problem in a while.

If you follow all the instructions in the first post here, it will get only GP2 to boot:
http://forums.dolphin-emulator.com/showthread.php?tid=23763&highlight=triforce

DemonEyeX
06-19-2012, 04:16 PM
If you follow all the instructions in the first post here, it will get only GP2 to boot:

Yep, completely followed the instructions.
Enabled cheats & enabled AM-Baseboard in SP1 and Port1,
I get -
Unknown DVD command ed000000 - fatal error
followed by
Unknown DVD command 57000000 - fatal error

It does say on the link you sent to the Dolphin forum - "Find your game ID and copy and paste this in the game .ini file"
Can anyone tell me how I do this ? Where do I find my game ID ?

djvj
06-19-2012, 04:41 PM
You don't need to if you used the triforce build of dolphin. It's incorporated already. This was stated in the thread if you read it.

I know a few ppl who got the game running fine by following the instructions exactly. You might of missed something if you still get those errors.

DemonEyeX
06-19-2012, 04:55 PM
You don't need to if you used the triforce build of dolphin. It's incorporated already.

Ah, OK, that's cool. It wasn't quite clear to me on the thread.


You might of missed something if you still get those errors.

Honestly bud, i've tried it & checked it & re-tried it like 20 times now, it looks simple, but something else is amiss.
There appears to be others with the same problem, i've just asked on the Dolphin forum.

By the way VJ, have you got it running through HS yet ?
Looks simple enough.

djvj
06-19-2012, 05:45 PM
Yes I have, sucks you can't get it working. I only had those errors when trying other games, not GP2.

DemonEyeX
06-19-2012, 06:02 PM
I only had those errors when trying other games, not GP2.

I'm starting to think i've got a dodgy iso.
I think the one i've got is for WII Quadforce.

I'll have to find another one to try.

sp3ctr3
06-20-2012, 01:24 AM
Man, that is great news. I was able to play Mario Kart GP and Mario Kart GP 2 in an arcade last year. Very fun. This also paves the way for F-Zero AX.

azzbarb
06-20-2012, 01:34 AM
I'm starting to think i've got a dodgy iso.
I think the one i've got is for WII Quadforce.

I'll have to find another one to try.

I use the ones that were for the wii and Mario gp 2 works fine, the only other things I changed was I renamed the game.bin to the actual game name and set Search sub folders in dolphin settings.

CABLE
06-20-2012, 12:20 PM
Emucr has the newest version Dolphin-Triforce-3.0-694 the controls now work in game

Hunk_4TH
06-20-2012, 12:28 PM
I get a DVD error when trying to run one of the games.

DemonEyeX
06-20-2012, 03:20 PM
I'll have to find another one to try.

OK, done that.
Now about to test.
I'll report back in a bit.


I get a DVD error when trying to run one of the games.

You might have the same problem as me, what exactly is the error ?

DemonEyeX
06-20-2012, 04:59 PM
I get a DVD error when trying to run one of the games.

You might have the same problem as me, what exactly is the error ?

I got some new files and now everything is good.
Emulation is good, game runs lovely.

Looks like you have the same problem Hunk,
The bad files I had are .iso, the new working ones are .bin, you just to rename them to .iso to get Dolphin to recognise them.

Hunk_4TH
06-20-2012, 07:59 PM
Thanks DemonEyeX. The error I get is
Unknown DVD command 474650ed -fatal error It was already named to .iso I may look for a different one. Also should this be moved to Golden Users forum? Just a suggestion :)

DemonEyeX
06-21-2012, 05:50 PM
New version, Dolphin Triforce Git 3.0-696 is out.

Controls appear to be sorted,
The changelog says -

* Changed the gas and brake controls to right trigger and left trigger respectively.
* Hooked up the analog controls and some of the other switches. Thanks to MetalliC for the patch.
stickX - steering
stickY - gas / brake
A - Item button
B - Cancel button
Z - Coin
X - Test mode (not working)
Y - Service

Now gonna test it.

Trnzaddict
06-21-2012, 06:12 PM
New version, Dolphin Triforce Git 3.0-696 is out.

Controls appear to be sorted,
The changelog says -

* Changed the gas and brake controls to right trigger and left trigger respectively.
* Hooked up the analog controls and some of the other switches. Thanks to MetalliC for the patch.
stickX - steering
stickY - gas / brake
A - Item button
B - Cancel button
Z - Coin
X - Test mode (not working)
Y - Service

Now gonna test it.


So how is the game does it have messed up graphics and sound or is the emulation good?

Hunk_4TH
06-21-2012, 06:21 PM
I have the Z button mapped to my 360 left bumper and it doesn't seem to add credits. I try hitting A,B or Y it just goes to waiting for new challenger and sits there :( Am I doing something wrong?

*Edit* Nevermind I think I got it :) though it wants to crash on me when I try selecting a characters.

@Trnzaddict audio and video seem good I don't think it's a very demanding either.

sp3ctr3
06-21-2012, 11:00 PM
Triforce is basically GameCube hardware, so it should run great.

evil eye
06-22-2012, 07:27 AM
Does Triforce also play Gamecube games, or is it only for arcade games?

DemonEyeX
06-22-2012, 07:48 AM
So how is the game does it have messed up graphics and sound or is the emulation good?

Graphics & sound are very good, the game runs lovely


Does Triforce also play Gamecube games, or is it only for arcade games?

Nope, stick to regular builds of Dolphin for Gamecube emulation. At the moment Dolphin Triforce only emulates one game.

All the controls are hooked up now and I played the game for over two hours without any problems.

http://www.emucr.com/2012/06/dolphin-triforce-git-30-696.html

evil eye
06-22-2012, 08:08 AM
Good to know, thanks!

DemonEyeX
06-22-2012, 10:29 AM
No probs Evil Eye,
Thanks for the thanks.
Even though i've helped peeps out plenty in the past this is the first one in almost 4 years.
Haha, nice one.

Still playing the game, runs brilliantly,
Can't wait for F-Zero AX to work.

evil eye
06-22-2012, 11:22 AM
No probs Evil Eye,
Thanks for the thanks.
Even though i've helped peeps out plenty in the past this is the first one in almost 4 years.
Haha, nice one.

Yeah I noticed you had no thanks and I couldn't believe it, as I know you've helped me personally a few times before. So take it as a thanks for everything. :D

DemonEyeX
06-22-2012, 04:09 PM
Yeah I noticed you had no thanks and I couldn't believe it, as I know you've helped me personally a few times before. So take it as a thanks for everything. :D

From one eye to another, cheers bud.

evil eye
06-26-2012, 06:38 PM
Getting some snap crackle pop with the audio on Mario Kart GP2. It's especially noticable when the announcer speaks just before the start of the race. I'm on the latest build, Triforce 3.0 696, x64 on Win7. I see a lot of people saying that their are no isses with sound, but has anyone else experienced this issue? Maybe I should use the 32 bit version?

DemonEyeX
06-29-2012, 04:51 PM
Getting some snap crackle pop with the audio on Mario Kart GP2.

I'm running the 64 bit version of Dolphin on my cabinet, but it won't run on my main PC for some reason, so i'm running the 32bit version there.
Unfortunately the audio problems are in both versions.
Looks like we'll have to wait for some updates, there haven't been any since the controls got fixed.
Me & my girl have got plenty of play from GP2 but now I really can't wait to play F-Zero AX !

evil eye
06-30-2012, 08:18 AM
Yup, I tried the 32 bit version as well and had the same audio issues. Which I can live with for the time being, but everyone kept saying audio was good and never mentioned the crackle so I thought it was just me. Glad to hear I'm not alone. :D Yeah, love GP2, but can't wait for F-Zero to be emulated as well, along with the rest of the Tri-Force stable.

trancechris
06-30-2012, 10:14 AM
Changing the audio backend in Dolphin to XAudio2 removed the crackeling sounds for me, try that..

DemonEyeX
07-03-2012, 10:10 AM
Changing the audio backend in Dolphin to XAudio2 removed the crackeling sounds for me, try that..

Yessssss, that worked nicely, thanks for that Chris.

By the way -
Dolphin Triforce Git 3.0-697 (http://www.emucr.com/2012/07/dolphin-triforce-git-30-697.html) has been released,
It now supports Virtua Striker 2002 !

Rockohoward
10-10-2012, 10:08 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Dqwg5X-fh8&feature=g-user-u

Looks like crediar has gotten F-Zero AX to work as well as Mario Kart GP2 with card support.

Trnzaddict
10-10-2012, 10:20 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Dqwg5X-fh8&feature=g-user-u

Looks like crediar has gotten F-Zero AX to work as well as Mario Kart GP2 with card support.


Wow. I was about to add the gamecube version to my wheel too as in like tonight. Guess we can enjoy the actual arcade version now.

djvj
10-10-2012, 10:42 AM
F yea!!!

evil eye
10-10-2012, 12:26 PM
Sick. So has the newest git been released then? Haven't checked emucr in a while.

brolly
10-10-2012, 02:44 PM
Is that running in Dolphin or through Quadforce? I'm guessing Quadforce, which already runs more Triforce games than Dolphin. Let's hope this will work on Dolphin later on, but I'm not keeping my hopes too high.

Rockohoward
10-11-2012, 10:24 PM
Im pretty sure its an updated version of Quadforce which I hope will be released soon and updated on Dolphin as well

Also heres a video of Mario Kart GP2 with Cardplay


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNeUNwuV1A0&feature=plcp

MiTKiNG
11-24-2012, 01:01 AM
What? I have been long time disconnected from hyperspin and emulation... and thats what I meet in my return? Fuck Yeah, I can wait to set this up on my machine. Do we have theme-wheels-vids for this? Do I need to upgrade to platinium or are they on the ftp?

rorysean
11-24-2012, 02:30 AM
We do have theme,wheels but i have not seen any videos yet.and only 2 games work as crediar does not seem to want to release a new Quadforce?.or a up date to dolphin.so i guess we just have to wait and see,i think i will just give up checking for updates and just have a look in a year or so.

aupton
12-13-2012, 07:36 PM
Anyone know how to get these 2 or 3 titles to launch under HS through dolphin? Is there an existing .ahk on the ftp somewhere?

Tristeele
12-13-2012, 08:35 PM
Is there a working FZero version out now? I keep checking and have not seen anything!

nogarth
01-30-2013, 04:48 AM
trying it now jsut came out today
http://www.emucr.com/2013/01/dolphin-git-35-348.html

(This dont work with it as it aint the triforce one)

also new thread
http://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Thread-triforce-mario-kart-arcade-gp-2

Crylen
07-01-2013, 09:55 AM
I hate to bump this but...

Does anyone still have the game themes and wheels? I've looked all over the FTP and through the forums with no luck.