Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 68

Thread: MAME Bezels

  1. #1
    Elite Member
    joe35car's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 150 Times in 82 Posts

    Default MAME Bezels

    After updating to the newest HL now when I launch a game in MAME and have bezel set to true it's messed up now. I attached 2 pics. One with bezel true and one with it false. The one on the left is set to true which is wrong. It use to work fine until I updated everything. Hope someone can help me out I'm sure it's something simple.

    Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bezel_true.jpg 
Views:	373 
Size:	47.2 KB 
ID:	31860   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bezel_false.jpg 
Views:	323 
Size:	47.1 KB 
ID:	31861  

  2. #2
    HyperSpin Guru
    bleasby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    madrid
    Posts
    1,097
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 498 Times in 310 Posts

    Default

    Please add your hyperlaunch.log file to the post.

    What bezel option do you have for the mame emulator? normal or layout?
    Do you have mame bezel, overlay, ... enabled on module options or not?
    When asking for help for HyperLaunch 3, please post your HyperLaunch.log with logging level set to troubleshooting in pastebin (set the log level in HLHQ, global system > General Settings -> HyperLaunch).

    Please also search the forums and read this site. Chances are that your questions were already answered with a 99% probability.

    Ass. Bleasby - Proud father of HyperPause and Bezel features.

  3. #3
    Elite Member
    joe35car's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 150 Times in 82 Posts

    Default

    Here is the log as for your questions I'm not sure all I did was update to the newest HL and now it looks wrong.

    # Fullscreen - Set fullscreen mode
    # Videomode - Choices are gdi,ddraw,d3d. If left blank, mame uses d3d by default
    # Params - ROM specific option that adds a CLI command to that game at boot
    # MameRomName - For games that require they be named the orginal rom's name, set this key to the original rom name. Likewise you also set a 2nd Rom_Path in your HyperLaunch Mame\Emulators.ini pointing to a folder with all your alternate roms

    [Settings]
    BezelMode=normal
    pauseMethod=4
    CheatModeKey=Z&X
    CheatMode=true
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by joe35car; 09-11-2013 at 03:37 PM.

  4. #4
    HyperSpin Guru
    bleasby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    madrid
    Posts
    1,097
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 498 Times in 310 Posts

    Default

    thks for the info, I believe there is a mistake on the released bezel file. I need to double check it. Give me some time and I will try to figure out what is going on.

    Edit: It is not a bezel problem. Try to run mame in windowed mode outside of hyperlaunch. You will see that the windows is not completly filled. We have to adjust some kind of mame option to make it look as it should.
    Last edited by bleasby; 09-11-2013 at 04:01 PM.
    When asking for help for HyperLaunch 3, please post your HyperLaunch.log with logging level set to troubleshooting in pastebin (set the log level in HLHQ, global system > General Settings -> HyperLaunch).

    Please also search the forums and read this site. Chances are that your questions were already answered with a 99% probability.

    Ass. Bleasby - Proud father of HyperPause and Bezel features.

  5. #5
    Elite Member
    joe35car's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 150 Times in 82 Posts

    Default

    Thank you bleasby all your work is much appreciated.

  6. #6
    HyperSpin Guru
    bleasby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    madrid
    Posts
    1,097
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 498 Times in 310 Posts

    Default

    I was able to make it work by renaming the artwork folder inside mame emulator folder to something else.

    By some reason, even choosing to disable mame built-in bezel, overlay and backdrops, mame is thinking that needs to separate part of the screen to drawn them, making the game window be smaller than it should be.

    For sure one of the guys that knows more about mame emulator can say what should we do in this case to disable the artwork, without making the ugly hack of renaming the folder.
    When asking for help for HyperLaunch 3, please post your HyperLaunch.log with logging level set to troubleshooting in pastebin (set the log level in HLHQ, global system > General Settings -> HyperLaunch).

    Please also search the forums and read this site. Chances are that your questions were already answered with a 99% probability.

    Ass. Bleasby - Proud father of HyperPause and Bezel features.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to bleasby For This Useful Post:

    joe35car (09-11-2013)

  8. #7
    Elite Member
    joe35car's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 150 Times in 82 Posts

    Default

    OK well like I said it was working fine until this most recent update. I'm sure it will get fixed sooner or later. It's just nice to have it enabled for horizontal games that don't have artwork instead of looking at the black bars on the side.

  9. #8
    HyperSpin Guru
    bleasby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    madrid
    Posts
    1,097
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 498 Times in 310 Posts

    Default

    Yeah I need to check how things are being called on the module. It looks like there is some problem with the command line.

    If I select to use default values on the module settings and choose on mame.ini these options everything works as it should.
    Code:
    # CORE ARTWORK OPTIONS
    #
    artwork_crop              1
    use_backdrops             1
    use_overlays              1
    use_bezels                0
    use_cpanels               0
    use_marquees              0
    If you want to set thing like that meanwhile, this would fix the small screen issue.

    But there is another one that I had not took into account before.
    There was one scenario that I hadn't took into account when checking if a game is vertical oriented or not. Amora gives me that its screen orientation is 180 degrees, and I was only taking into account a zero degree angle as a horizontal game on mame.

    This will be fixed asap on the bezel.ahk file. Thks for giving all the info and helping finding out these issues. I will try to get in contact with djvj to fix them.
    When asking for help for HyperLaunch 3, please post your HyperLaunch.log with logging level set to troubleshooting in pastebin (set the log level in HLHQ, global system > General Settings -> HyperLaunch).

    Please also search the forums and read this site. Chances are that your questions were already answered with a 99% probability.

    Ass. Bleasby - Proud father of HyperPause and Bezel features.

  10. #9
    Elite Member
    joe35car's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    544
    Thanks
    396
    Thanked 150 Times in 82 Posts

    Default

    @ bleasby

    Just noticed you're from Madrid. I was there about 6 years ago.
    bear and the madroño tree

    Edit: June 2009 I was there :P
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01673.jpg 
Views:	112 
Size:	45.9 KB 
ID:	31902  
    Last edited by joe35car; 09-12-2013 at 08:21 AM.

  11. #10
    HyperSpin Guru
    bleasby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    madrid
    Posts
    1,097
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 498 Times in 310 Posts

    Default

    Actually I am brazilian, but I have being living in Madrid for a few years already.

    I never know what should I place on the location field, so I more or less adopted the rule to place the location that I am currently living.
    When asking for help for HyperLaunch 3, please post your HyperLaunch.log with logging level set to troubleshooting in pastebin (set the log level in HLHQ, global system > General Settings -> HyperLaunch).

    Please also search the forums and read this site. Chances are that your questions were already answered with a 99% probability.

    Ass. Bleasby - Proud father of HyperPause and Bezel features.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Mame Bezels
    By Cougar888 in forum HyperSpin Main Forum
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-15-2014, 03:06 PM
  2. Mame artwork problem with bezels.
    By Scoot Magee in forum Emulator Setup / Settings
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-24-2014, 02:32 AM
  3. mame bezels issues
    By sochiin in forum HyperSpin Main Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 03:31 PM
  4. Mame bezels, reflection and 3D?
    By Cougar888 in forum HyperSpin Main Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2011, 10:30 AM
  5. virtual bezels for mame
    By jsheehan3 in forum Emulator Setup / Settings
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 07:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •