Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: PSXfin.exe and DaemonTools

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    US A
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default PSXfin.exe and DaemonTools

    Does anyone have a script for this to work?

    I tried using it with the build in script but im getting an error on some games that says. "cd not usable: Failed to open file." Same thing happens if I just try it on the emulator.

    If I mount it in daemon tools first though, it works no problem.

    I am not sure why this is happening, but maybe someone has some insight?

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    US A
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Small update, this seems to happen to games that have multiple bin files. Single bin and cue files work fine. Any idea what the solution is for this?

  3. #3
    #73
    garwil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    I'm not on my PC at the moment but I have this working in PSX and ePSXe. If you use the cue file rather than the bin file as your rom it'll stop happening. Hope that helps

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    US A
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Is there any chance you can post your script and other various settings when you get a chance. I was trying epsxe today but was also having issues.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    US A
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Another update. I tried epsxe like garwil mentioned. While it works I run into the same type of issue as psxfin. If I have a cue that has multiple bin files. (two examples I have are, Castlevania and destruction derby) I get an error from epsxe that says it cant read the iso file. There is no iso file involved so I am stumped.

    Here is an example of my Castlevanie .cue file.

    FILE "Castlevania - Symphony of the Night (USA) (Track 1).bin" BINARY
    TRACK 01 MODE2/2352
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
    FILE "Castlevania - Symphony of the Night (USA) (Track 2).bin" BINARY
    TRACK 02 AUDIO
    INDEX 00 00:00:00
    INDEX 01 00:02:00


    The file names of the bin files are correct. The cue is called Castlevania - Symphony of the Night (USA).cue


    Also it works fine if I mount the games in daemon tools first. Just not if I run the cue directly. So anyone that can offer any help would be appreciated, even a script that has it mounting in daemon tools would be perfect.

  6. #6
    HyperSpin Guru volumetric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    1,447
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts

    Default

    i believe sega saturn hyperlaunch has the code to run daemon tools, you could copy and paste the relevant lines between the saturn and playstation ank's. Also if you can mount the image, you could probably convert it using something like magic iso. (im not sure if nero supports standard iso files) psxfin is compatible with standard iso, cloneCD image format (.img) alcohol and a bunch of others so you should be able to convert to a format that works.
    If your using epsxe, you could also try a different cdrom plugin, im using a moby plugin and it seems to run everything fine

  7. #7
    #73
    garwil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    IIRC neither emulator supports multi-bin cd images, but if you do what volumetric says about the AHK script above they'll load the mounted images fine. I'll post my script when I get a chance.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    US A
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok I made some progress

    This is my current script.

    ;********************************Sony Playstation*******************************

    else if (systemName = "Sony Playstation" && executable = "epsxe.exe")
    {
    Runwait, %DAEMONTOOLS% -mount 0`,"%romPath%%romName%%romExtension%"
    hideDesktop()
    Hotkey, %exitEmulatorKey%, CloseProcess
    Sleep, 3000
    epsxeParams = -nogui
    Runwait, %Executable% %epsxeParams% "%romPath%%romName%%romExtension%", %EmuPath%, Hide UseErrorLevel
    DetectHiddenWindows, on
    Run, %DAEMONTOOLS% -unmount 0,UseErrorLevel

    }

    These are my ini setting as well

    [exe info]
    path=D:\HyperSpin 1.0\HyperSpin Install 1.0 Final\Emulators\Sony Playstation 1\
    rompath=D:\HyperSpin 1.0\HyperSpin Install 1.0 Final\Roms\Sony Playstation\
    userompath=true
    exe=ePSXe.exe
    romextension=cue
    parameters=
    searchsubfolders=true
    pcgame=false
    winstate=HIDDEN
    hyperlaunch=true

    it seems like I am having an issue loading epsxe in -nogui mode.

    When I run epsxe.exe -nogui from a command prompt with the image loaded in daemon tools, it works perfectly. I just need help translating that into the script. I would think my use of epsxeparams is incorrect but I am not sure how to fix it.

    I tried to remove the line ""%romPath%%romName%%romExtension%", %EmuPath%, Hide UseErrorLevel" so it would seem to only run epsxe and no gui, but it just returns an error.
    Last edited by vincelatello; 06-02-2010 at 07:36 AM.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    US A
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have made some headway and I am able to get the emulator to run 1 game. Once you quit that game the screen stays black and I have to ctrl alt del, to kill hyperspin and hyperlaunch and espxe if it is still running.

    This is my script that allows it to work.

    ;********************************Sony Playstation*******************************

    else if (systemName = "Sony Playstation" && executable = "epsxe.exe")
    {
    Run, %DAEMONTOOLS% -mount 0`,"%romPath%%romName%%romExtension%"
    Hotkey, %exitEmulatorKey%, CloseProcess
    Sleep, 3000
    epsxeParams = -nogui
    Run, %Executable% %epsxeParams%, %EmuPath%
    DetectHiddenWindows, on

    }


    I am trying to add in unloading of the iso at exit and somehow come up with a way for the espxe process to def be closed and the main hyperspin window to be brought back to the front.

    I made this script to do that.

    ;********************************Sony Playstation*******************************

    else if (systemName = "Sony Playstation" && executable = "epsxe.exe")
    {
    Run, %DAEMONTOOLS% -mount 0`,"%romPath%%romName%%romExtension%"
    Hotkey, %exitEmulatorKey%, CloseProcess
    Sleep, 3000
    epsxeParams = -nogui
    Run, %Executable% %epsxeParams%, %EmuPath%
    DetectHiddenWindows, on
    Run, %DAEMONTOOLS% -unmount 0,UseErrorLevel
    WinWait ahk_class epsxe
    hideDesktop()
    WinWaitClose, ahk_class epsxe

    }

    I am not sure at all about those "Winwait" lines those could be completely wrong, but even with out them and only having in that unmout daemon tools line the script no longer plays any games at all.

    Hopefully I am one step closer to mastering this one. Thanks!

    Also perhaps this all stems to how I implemented the -nogui switch. Once the game is loaded in daemon tools I just need to run the command line espxe.exe -nogui and that will load the game. Nothing else is needed. I am no sure if thats what I accomplished there or not.
    Last edited by vincelatello; 06-02-2010 at 11:43 AM.

  10. #10
    HyperSpin Guru volumetric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    1,447
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts

    Default

    One thing im noticing with epsxe, sometimes it wont shut down properly, yesterday i was using it to make snap videos, stopped for a minute to check my task manager as my fps were dropping, and low and behold i had six little epsxe's running. This was also causing havok with HS till i shut them all down. Hope this helps

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PSXfin.exe pops up the goes
    By chuckangeline in forum Emulator Setup / Settings
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2011, 06:17 AM
  2. psxfin WhiteScreen
    By landob in forum Emulator Setup / Settings
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-01-2011, 12:08 AM
  3. psxfin
    By andyco40 in forum HyperSpin Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 08:12 AM
  4. Help exiting PSXFIN
    By rubaducky in forum HyperSpin Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 07:34 PM
  5. pSXfin Mapping Alt
    By JenkNZ in forum HyperSpin Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2009, 03:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •