Download Section Back Up, Navigate the Right Hand Menu to find files, ignore the 0s

Creating a Genre wheel

singlefin

Hi all.

I'm new to Hyperspin, and I have to say I like it a lot.

I've been putzing with this for a while but I can't seem to figure it out. I intend to run MAME exclusive and what I want to do is have Hyperspin initially come up with a Genre wheel. Upon choose one of the genre I'd like another wheel to display the games in that genre.

I've set Hyperspin in Single Mode and specified the Genre mode. My Main Menu.xml file (in the Main Menu folder under databases) looks like:

<menu>

<game name="Genre"/>

</menu>

Then in the Genre folder (under Databases - I'm just trying to get one genre to work for starters) the genre.xml file looks like:

<menu>

<game name="Shooter Games"/>

</menu>

And in the same folder I have the Shooter Games.xml file that lists off all of the shooter games (as given with Hyperspin).

But when I run Hyperspin the log.txt file shows:

09:17:01 AM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded

09:17:02 AM | Main Menu wheel loaded successfully

09:17:06 AM | Loading Genre.xml

09:17:06 AM | Loading Main Menu.xml

09:17:06 AM | No Games found in current filter

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help,

SingleFin

Yes. It sits in the Genre folder under the Databases folder.

Now I've only got 1 of the ROMs in the Shooter Games.xml file actually sitting in the MAME/roms folder, but that shouldn't matter, should it? I should still get all the choices but only 1 of them would actually run a game. Correct?

SingleFin

I think perhaps the problem is that you describe setting up the genre wheel in your menu.xml when what you have to do is make a new .xml file called Genre.xml that then lists your genres...

<menu>

</menu>

You then need to make another xml called Shooter Games.xml and in this xml have all the games listed that you would consider "shooter games".